United Methodist Church

United Methodist Church Photo

Location

9856 Royal Street
St. Francisville LA 70775

Methodism arrived here in 1803 with fiery missionary Lorenzo Dow, and an imposing church was built in Bayou Sara in 1844. The present church was built in 1899 and includes the bell tower from the old church.

In 1959 a parsonage was built next door to the church, and is now used for a nursery and day care center.  The church became a United Methodist Church in 1968. A new fellowship hall was completed, along with the remodeling of the educational building in 1983. 

Then in 1990 the church purchased the adjacent Robb House which was built in 1895 as a pharmacy with living quarters upstairs.  The stately old building now houses the church administrative offices and Sunday school classes.  The educational building was again enlarged in 2004 to meet the ever growing needs of the church.

In late 2014, a Sanctuary Restoration began with the purpose of restoring the interior of the church building on Royal Street to its pre-1970's state.  Beautiful wood floors and a bead board ceiling were exposed and restored.

Amenities

General Information
  • Family Friendly
  • Free Admission
  • Handicapped Accessible
  • Open Year-Round

Contact

Phone: