Haase's

8119 Oak St, New Orleans, LA 70118
504-866-9944 | 504-865-8407
Website   Email

Property Description

Boris Haase founded Haase’s Shoe Store Inc. in July 1921. Mr. Haase was a Russian immigrant who came into the United States when he was five years old.
Mr. Haase started Haase’s on Prytania Street and after six months moved to Oak Street, across the street from the present store. Mr. Haase purchased a camel back double in the present location, raised the double and put the present store underneath the house. The Haase family lived in the house portion for many years, Mr. Haase died in 1956.
In 1931 Mrs. Della Haase opened the Young Folks Shop. Mrs. Haase ran the Young Folks Shop until 1960 when Mrs. Vera May Haase Caliva took over the management of the Young Folks Shop. Mrs. Della Haase died in 1970.
Boris Haase Jr. managed the shoe store from 1956 until his death in 1968. At this time Mrs. Vera May Haase Caliva took over management of the shoe store. Mrs. Caliva has had a hand in running the shoe store and the clothing store since that time.