The New Orleans Jazz Museum is housed in the historic Old U.S. Mint, which is strategically located at the intersection of the city's French Quarter and the Frenchmen Street live music corridor. It celebrates the history of jazz, in all its forms, through dynamic interactive exhibits, multigenerational educational programming, research facilities, and engaging musical performances. The New Orleans Jazz Museum, in collaboration with the Louisiana Museum Foundation and other educational and programming partners, is developing the world's premier jazz exhibition. It will highlight the tremendous influence of New Orleans jazz on the cultural fabric of the nation and world. For details and to learn how to support the effort, visit NOLAjazzmuseum.org.
You can hear great music from some of New Orleans' best contemporary artists at the, state-of-the-art performance venue on the Mint's third floor. The near perfect sound environment features advanced acoustics and sound recording equipment designed to enhance the listeners' experience and record the performances for historical archives. The Museum uses the space for evening programs, solo and small group concerts and special events. While the National Park Service offers daily live music programs for local residents and visitors to the New Orleans Jazz National Historic Park. Learn more and find a calendar of events at MusicAtTheMint.org.
Through partnerships with educational institutions, the New Orleans Jazz Museum broadens the local, national and global understanding of jazz as the most innovative, historically pivotal musical art form in American history. For more information, visit NOLAjazzmuseum.org. William Strickland of Philadelphia, who designed the Second Bank of the U.S., the Philadelphia Mint and the Tennessee State Capitol, designed the Old U.S. Mint as well. The simple, classic style of the building reflects the Greek Revival era. Completed in 1838, the Old U.S. Mint holds the distinct title of being the only mint to have produced both American and Confederate coinage.
After the Civil War, the Mint was the only one in the South to reopen, resuming full operations by 1879. In 1909, minting ceased, and the building was used as a federal prison during Prohibition, then by the Coast Guard until the federal government transferred it to the state in 1966. In 1981, the Mint opened to the public as a state museum site. For more information, visit LouisianaStateMuseum.org.